Presidential Scholars Program

Founded in 1985, the Presidential Scholars Program recognizes some of the region’s most exceptional students on the basis of their academic achievements, leadership, and citizenship. Presidential Scholars set high standards of excellence and serve as role models for their fellow students, the university, and community.

The Presidential Scholars Program was established under the leadership of Dr. Richard Butwell, the third president of California State University, Dominguez Hills. Through the generous support of our donors, the university has been able to award the prestigious scholarship to more than 150 students over the last thirty years. Presidential Scholars receive substantial financial and personal benefits that include full payment of in-state fees, a generous allowance for books and supplies, a personal laptop computer, complimentary parking permits, recognition at key university events, as well as support and guidance throughout their academic career. The university is extremely proud to count many successful and notable professionals in a variety of fields, as alumni of the Presidential Scholars Program.

A list of the 2016-2017 Presidential Scholars is available on the Current Scholars page.