Our campus area code is (310) and the prefix is 243 followed by the extension number.  

 

Faculty

Kate Fawver

Kate Fawver
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside, 2002

kfawver@csudh.edu
LCH A-311; x3494

Spring 2016 office hours:

T/TH 11:00AM-12:00PM and 4:00PM-5:00PM and by appointment

Recipient of the Fulbright Scholars Grant.  (To read profile article: click here)

Jim Jeffers

James Jeffers Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 1988

jjeffers@csudh.edu
LCH A-319; x1084

Spring 2016 office hours:

M/W 10:30AM-1:00PM

Dr. Jeffers' books, The Greco-Roman World of the New Testament Era, and Conflict at Rome: Social Order and Hierarchy in Early Christianity, are both available on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble.com.

Andrea Johnson

Andrea Johnson
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri, Columbia, 2006

anjohnson@csudh.edu
LCH A-315; x2636

Spring 2016 office hours:

M/W 9:00AM-10:00AM and 12:45PM-2:15PM

Attended an NEH Summer Institute on Early American Women held in Providence, Rhode Island.

Christopher Monty

Chris Monty
Chair and Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2004

cmonty@csudh.edu
LCH A-317; 3469

Spring 2016 office hours:

M 12:00PM-1:30PM
T 4:00PM-5:30PM
W 1:00PM-2:30PM
TH 2:30PM-4:00PM and by appointment

Recipient of the 2013 Lyle E. Gibson Distinguished Teacher Award.  (To read profile article: click here)

Laura Talamante

Laura Talamante
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2003

ltalamante@csudh.edu
LCH A-327; x3451

Spring 2016 office hours:

M/W 2:00PM-4:00PM or by appointment

History Major and G.E. Advising:

T 8:00AM-11:30AM in University Advisement Center, WH A-220 (walk-in only) and 2:00PM-5:30PM in LCH A-327 (walk-in and appointments)

Recipient of the Brown Foundation Fellowship at the Dora Maar House in Ménerbes, France.  (To read faculty highlight article: click here)

Ericka Verba

Ericka Verba
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1999

everba@csudh.edu

No office hours for 2015-2016. Dr. Verba will be on leave.

Recipient of the Fellowship Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH).  (To read profile article: click here)

Adjunct Faculty

 

Tom Alvarez
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2007

talvarez@csudh.edu
LCH A-313; x3951

Spring 2016 office hours:

M/W 11:55AM-12:55PM and 5:15PM-5:45PM

Michael Desrochers

Michael Desrochers
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1978

mdesrochers@csudh.edu or
mjdesrochers@earthlink.net
LCH A-340; x1049

Spring 2016 office hours:

T/TH 7:00AM-8:00AM and 11:30AM-12:30PM

 

Alfred Flores
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2015

aflores@csudh.edu
LCH A-313; x3951

Spring 2016 office hours:

TH 2:15PM-3:15PM and by appointment

Matt Luckett

Matt Luckett
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2014

mluckett@csudh.edu
LCH A-313; x3951

Spring 2016 office hours:

T 1:00PM-5:00PM

Doris Namala

Doris Namala
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2002

dnamala@csudh.edu or dnamala@ucla.edu
LCH A-347; x3489

Spring 2016 office hours:

M/W 1:00PM-2:00PM
T 2:00PM-3:30PM
TH 11:30AM-1:00PM
 

Liam O’Mara IV
M.A., University of
California, Irvine, 2008

womaraiv@csudh.edu
LCH A-340; x1049

Spring 2016 office hours:

T/TH 5:30PM-6:30PM

Kirsten Resnick

Kirsten Resnick
M.A., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1994

kresnick@csudh.edu or kresnick@earthlink.net
LCH A-340; x1049

Spring 2016 office hours:

TH 4:00PM-6:00PM

Emeriti Faculty

 

Marilyn Garber

Don Hata

Donald Teruo Hata, Jr.
History Faculty, 1974-2002

 

Nancy Hollander

Howard Holter

Howard Holter
History Faculty, 1970-2007

History Chair, Designer of Humanities External Degree Program, Russian History specialist.

 

Lynne Loeb

Lynne Loeb
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1997

lloeb@csudh.edu
Linda Pomerantz

Linda Pomerantz
History Faculty, 1972-2004
lpomerantz@csudh.edu

Frank Stricker

Frank Stricker
History Faculty, 1972-2009

Dr. Stricker's book, Why America Lost the War on Poverty--And How to Win It, is available in the CSUDH Bookstore, at the Univ. of N. Carolina Press, on Amazon.com, and on Barnes and Noble.com.

Clement Udeze

Clement Udeze
Associate Professor
M.A., University of Minnesota, 1967

cudeze@csudh.edu