“That men do not learn very much from the lessons of history is the most important of all the lessons that history has to teach.” ― Aldous Huxley 

Faculty

Kate Fawver

Kate Fawver
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside, 2002

kfawver@csudh.edu
LCH A-311

310.243.3494

Fall 2017 office hours:

Tuesday
10:30am-2:30pm

and by appointment.

 

Recipient of the Fulbright Scholars Grant, 2014-2015.  (To read profile article: click here)

Recipient of the CSU Dominguez Hills Excellence in Service Award, 2010. (To read profile article: click here)

Jim Jeffers

James Jeffers  Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 1988

jjeffers@csudh.edu
LCH A-319

310.243.1084

 

Dr. Jeffers' books, The Greco-Roman World of the New Testament Era, and Conflict at Rome: Social Order and Hierarchy in Early Christianity, are both available on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble.com.

Andrea Johnson

Andrea Johnson
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri, Columbia, 2006

anjohnson@csudh.edu
LCH A-315

310.243.2636

Fall 2017 office hours:

TBA

Attended an NEH Summer Institute on Early American Women held in Providence, Rhode Island.

Christopher Monty

Chris Monty
Chair and Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2004

cmonty@csudh.edu
LCH A-317

310.243.3469

Office hours for the week of 8.14.17:

 

Thursday


Email for Appointment

 

Recipient of the Lyle E. Gibson Distinguished Teacher Award, 2013.  (To read profile article: click here)

Bianca Murillo

Bianca Murillo
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara,2009

bmurillo8@csudh.edu
LCH A-307

310.243.1083

Fall 2017 office hours:

TBA

Recipient of the 2015-2016 Graves Award in the Humanities, administered by ACLS

Dr. Murillo’s book Market Encounters: Consumer Cultures in Twentieth Century Ghana (2017) is forthcoming with Ohio University Press as part of its New African Histories Series 

Dr. Murillo's home page can be found by clicking here.

Laura Talamante

Laura Talamante
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2003

ltalamante@csudh.edu
LCH A-327

310.243.3451

Fall 2017 office hours:

TBA

and by appointment.

 

 

Recipient of the Brown Foundation Fellowship at the Dora Maar House in Ménerbes, France, 2014.  (To read faculty highlight article: click here)

Adjunct Faculty

Tom Alvarez

Tom Alvarez
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2007

talvarez@csudh.edu
LCH A-319

 310.243.1084

Fall 2017 office hours:

Monday
7:50-8:25am & 12:50-1:45pm

Wednesday
7:50-8:25am & 12:50-1:45pm

and by appointment.

Michael Desrochers

Michael Desrochers
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1978

mdesrochers@csudh.edu or
mjdesrochers@earthlink.net
LCH A-340

310.243.1049

Fall 2017 office hours:

Tuesday
7am-9:30am

Thursday
7am-9:30am

Luckett, Matthew Faculty

Matt Luckett
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2014

mluckett@csudh.edu
LCH A-313

310.243.3951

Fall 2017 office hours:

Tuesday/Thursday
1pm-2pm

Friday
10am-11am

Doris Namala

Doris Namala
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2002

dnamala@csudh.edu or dnamala@ucla.edu
LCH A-347

310.243.3489

Fall 2017 office hours:

TBA

Kirsten Resnick

Kirsten Resnick
M.A., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1994

kresnick@csudh.edu or kresnick@earthlink.net
LCH A-340a

310.243.2041

Fall 2017 office hours:

Tuesday/Thursday
7:30am-8:00am &
10am-11am

 

Laurie Dickmeyer 

Laurie Dickmeyer
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 2017

ldickmeyer@csudh.edu
LCH A-319

310.243.1084

Fall 2017 office hours:

Tuesday/Thursday
1pm-2pm &
4pm-5pm

Marilyn Garber

JoAnna Wall
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2016 

jwall@csudh.edu
LCH A-313

310.243.3328

Fall 2017 office hours:

Monday
12pm-1pm &
4pm-5pm

 Wednesday
12pm-1pm

 Tom AlvarezRyan Archibald
Ph.D., University of Washington, ABD

rarchibald@csudh.edu
LCH A-313

310.243.3328

Fall 2017 office hours:

Monday/Wednesday
2:30pm-4:30pm

 

Tom Alvarez William E. O'Mara IV
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2016

womaraiv@csudh.edu
LCH A-340

310.243.1049

Fall 2017 office hours:

Tuesday/Thursday
1pm-2pm &
4pm-5pm

 

 Tom Alvarez

Brian Kovalesky
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 2017

bkovalesky@csudh.edu
LCH A-A340a

310.243.2041

Fall 2017 office hours:

Monday/Wednesday
1pm-2pm

 

 Tom AlvarezTrevor Griffey
Ph.D., University of Washington, 2011

tgriffey@csudh.edu
LCH A-340

310.243.1049

Fall 2017 office hours:

Thursday
10am-11am

 

Emeriti Faculty

Enrique Cortes

Enrique Cortes
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1974-1993

Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1974

Marilyn Garber

Marilyn Garber
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1967-

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1967

Judson A. Grenier

Judson A. Grenier
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1966-1992

Lyle E. Gibson Dominguez Hills Distinguished Teacher Award, 1974

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1965

Don Hata

Donald Teruo Hata, Jr.
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1970-2002

Lyle E. Gibson Dominguez Hills Distinguished Teacher Award, 1977

Recipient of the Statewide CSU Board of Trustees Outstanding Professor Award, 1990

Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1970

Nancy Hollander

Nancy C. Hollander
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1972-2004

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1974

Howard Holter

Howard R. Holter
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1970-2007

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1967

History Chair, Designer of Humanities External Degree Program, Russian History specialist.

Lynne L. Loeb

Lynne L. Loeb
Associate Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 2000-2015

Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1997

lloeb@csudh.edu

Donald A. MacPhee

Donald A. MacPhee
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1964-1985

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1959

Linda Pomerantz

Linda P. Pomerantz
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1972-2004

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, 1970

lpomerantz@csudh.edu

Frank Stricker

Frank A. Stricker
Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1972-2004

Ph.D., Princeton University, 1974

Dr. Stricker's book, Why America Lost the War on Poverty--And How to Win It, is available in the CSUDH Bookstore, at the Univ. of N. Carolina Press, on Amazon.com, and on Barnes and Noble.com.

Clement Okafor Udeze

Clement Okafor Udeze
Assistant Professor Emeritus of History

History Faculty, 1970-2006

M.A., University of Minnesota, 1967

cudeze@csudh.edu

 M.A. in Geography from the University of British Columbia