CAAPEI Executive Director Biography

CAAPEI Executive DirectorDr. Munashe Furusa is the Executive Director of California African American Political and Economic Institute (CAAPEI) and the Acting Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities at California State University Dominguez Hills, where amongst numerous other university positions, he has served as Chair of Africana Studies, Chair of Academic Senate, Chair of the General Education Committee, and Director of the Institute for Global Intercultural Peace Building. 

Dr. Furusa is also a member of the Board of Directors for the National Council for Black Studies. Before joining California State University Dominguez Hills, Dr. Furusa held numerous positions ranging in scope from high school principal in Zimbabwe to a national role as Chairman of the Zimbabwe Literature Curriculum Development Committee.

Dr. Furusa is an esteemed scholar, prolific author and lecturer and has written dozens of articles and books. His recent publications include Identity Construction and (Mis)Perceptions on Being Black in South Africa (forthcoming 2011), The Borders in All of Us: New Approaches to Global Diasporic Societies (2006), and African Womanhood in Zimbabwean Literature: New Critical Perspectives on Women's Literature in African Languages (2006). 

Amongst Dr. Furusa’s distinguished awards for professional and academic accomplishments are the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. Pi Chi Chapter Kwanzaa Award, for exemplifying the spirit of the 7th Principle of Kwanzaa- Imani, California State University Dominguez Hills Lyle Gibson Distinguished Teacher Award; Excellence in Service Award; Cheikh Anta Diop Award for Outstanding Research in Africana Studies; Certificate of Appreciation for Outstanding Teaching and Contribution to Africana People’s Struggles for Cultural Liberation;  the Frederick Douglass Award for Outstanding Contribution to Africana Communities; the William A. Little and Monica Little Award for Outstanding Development of Student Scholarship; the Carson Black Chamber of Commerce Education Award, and the Outstanding Professor and Mentor Ward.