Endowment: Faculty Legacy Award ($250,000 gift from Sue Gemmil) – Laura to provide information. Note: DH Magazine article (link to it).

(Taken from Dateline article a few years ago)

Faculty Legacy Fund Awards

The Faculty Legacy Fund Awards were established in 2007 by William Blischke, professor emeritus of sociology, and Leni Cook and Sue Gemmell, professors emeritus of teacher education. The awards were created to provide financial assistance to current tenure-track and tenured faculty members—with preference given to non-tenured, tenure-track faculty—to encourage and support their professional development in the areas of teaching, research and creative activity. 

Provide link to Sue Gemmell article and add sentence about her legacy.

Each year the EFA allocates approximately $10,000 for the awards.  Requests may be submitted for any amount up to that maximum.  After review of applications, the EFA Executive Committee may decide to grant one large award or several smaller ones. The grants are for use during the following academic year. 

The deadline for submitting proposals is in early December and is announced to faculty during the fall semester.  Announcement of the recipients of the awards is made at the beginning of the Spring semester and the awardees are honored at the EFA Spring Luncheon in May.

Link to application


Emeritus Faculty Association Newsletters

Contact Us

For general questions, please contact Laura Robles, President, Emeritus Faculty Association. For specific inquiries, contact the committee member from the 2016-2017 Executive Committee.

California State University Emeritus & Retired Faculty Association


[Get Adobe Acrobat Reader]